Meet the MI Team


Ahmed Amin, Ph.D. (Cofounder, CEO/CTO)

Dr. Amin is the lead architect for the Software-Programmable Lab-on-a-Chip(SPLoC) design, development and production. His doctoral thesis was on the architectural and compiler issues for microfluidics, and he has top-conference peer-reviewed publications on SPLoCs. After single-handedly winning 1st place at the 22nd Annual Burton D. Morgan Business Plan Competition in 2009, he co-founded Microfluidic Innovations, LLC, and has later led a team to a runner-up position in the New Ventures Competition in 2010. He is a primary inventor on a PCT application, has two US patent pending applications, and has authored and was awarded SBIR grants from the NSF and NIH.

Dr. Amin has led development teams for small projects in both industry and academia. He was also part of a research and consulting team at Mentor Graphics, and interned at Intel Corp. and NVIDIA Corp. Dr. Amin earned his Ph.D. in computer engineering from Purdue University in 2011, and holds a M.Sc. and B.Sc. degree in computer engineering from Cairo University in 2005 and 2002, respectively.

Mark Hobaugh, COO

Mark Hobaugh joins Microfluidic Innovations with more than 30 years of experience in engineering, product development, operations, and quality. Before arriving at Microfluidic Innovations, Mark has been Vice President of Operations at Quellan, Resonext Communications, and Sage Inc. All three companies were high-tech startups and acquired by industry leading companies, Intersil, RF MicroDevices, and Genesis MicroChip respectively. While at Sage, Mark was involved with development and oversaw manufacturing of Faroudja Labs commercial video processing systems that were recognized with two Emmy awards for excellence.

Prior to joining Microfluidic Innovations, Mark held various product line management, engineering, and operations positions during 22 years at National Semiconductor Corp. Mark has a proven track record for achieving excellent product costs, inventory levels, quality, and customer satisfaction. Mark received a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in 1977.

Tom Williams, Independent Board Member

With over 45 years of experience in information technology, Tom has had held US domestic and international startup and corporate executive positions including Chairman, Founder, CEO/President, Vice President, Independent Board Director, Strategic Advisor, Venture Capital Limited Partner, market pundit, private investor and private school trustee.

Currently Tom focuses his activities on providing Independent Board Director and Strategic Advisory services to emerging and growth companies.

Tom has earned an MBA from Santa Clara University, a BS Business from Roger Williams University, an AS Computer Science from CCRI, and a CDP from the ICCP.  Tom also served honorably in the U.S. Army.

Advisory Board

Prof. Steven Wereley, Microfluidics

Professor Wereley has bachelor degrees in Physics (Lawrence University, 1990) and Mechanical Engineering (Washington University, St. Louis, 1990) followed by masters and doctoral degrees from Northwestern University (1992 and 1997). He is currently Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University where he has been working since 1999 and a Fellow at the Center of Smart Interfaces, Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany). Professor Wereley served as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at Technische Universität Darmstadt (2007) and Universität der Bundeswehr (2009). His current research interests focus on fluid flows in microscopic domains, commonly known as microfluidics. Professor Wereley is the co-author of the monographs Fundamentals and Applications of Microfluidics (Artech House, 2002 and 2006) and Particle Image Velocimetry: A Practical Guide (Springer, 2007). Professor Wereley’s expertise with Particle Image Velocimetry was utilized in the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico (2010), where his knowledge and effort earned him the U.S. Geological Survey Director’s Award.

Prof. T. N. Vijaykumar, Architecture

Professor Vijaykumar received his B.E.(Honors) in Electrical and Electronics Engineering and his M.Sc.(Tech) in Computer Science from the Birla Institute of Technology and Science, India, in 1990, and earned his M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin in 1992 and 1997 respectively. He is currently an associate professor at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University. In 1999 Professor Vijaykumar received the NSF CAREER Award and has since been on NSF panels and ISCA (2000) panel on “Slow wires, hot Chips, and leaky transistors: New Challenges for the new millennium. Professor Vijaykumar is listed in the ISCA (International Symposium on Computer Architecture) Hall of fame and his 2003 paper “Transient-Fault Recovery for Chip Multiprocessors” was selected as one of IEEE Micro’s Top Ten papers.

Prof. Stephen Jacobson, Chemistry

Professor Jacobson received a B.S. in mathematics from Georgetown University in 1988 and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Tennessee in 1992. After graduate school, he was awarded an Alexander Hollaender Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellowship at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). In 1995, Stephen became a research staff member at ORNL, and during his stay at ORNL, he participated as an adjunct faculty member in the Genome Science and Technology Program at the University of Tennessee from 2000 to 2003. While working for Lockheed Martin Energy Research, Professor Jacobson won both the Significant Event Award and the Technical Achievement Award (1996), that same year he was awarded the R&D 100 (Research and Development) Award by R&D Magazine. He would go on to win the R&D 100 Top 40 Award 5 years later in 2001. In 2003, he moved to Indiana University (IU) and joined the faculty as an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry. The Federal Laboratory Consortium awarded Professor Jacobson with the Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer in 2004.

Prof. Mithuna Thottethodi, Architecture

Professor Thottethodi earned his Bachelors in Technology from the Indian Institute of Technology in Kharagpur, India, in 1996, and earned his Ph.D. from Duke University in 2002. He is currently an associate professor in School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University. In 2004, he received the award for Outstanding Professor by the Eta Kappa Nu, an electrical and computer engineering honor society at Purdue University, and received the Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teaching Award in 2006. Professor Thottethodi received the NSF CAREER Award in 2007. He has authored/co-authored and was awarded research grants exceeding $2.5 million.